My Date With a Kiwi
June 10, 2009, 6:18 am
Filed under: birds and bees | Tags:

There’s something about a man with an accent, especially one from down under. But sometimes accents are challenging to understand.

I met a very intelligent, sweet, interesting and handsome New Zealander at work the other evening. He works on a yacht near where I work and he has stopped in a few times with his coworker. After spending quite some time talking with him, I found out that he shares my love of country music. So of course I had to tell him about this wonderful country bar that has live music seven days a week. He was intrigued. I told him if they ever go to the country bar they must invite me along as I haven’t been there in a very long time. Yes, I invited myself. He seemed excited about it, but I just figured it’d be a friend thing, so I didn’t think much of it.

When he was getting ready to leave, I gave him my phone number and told him to let me know if they ever go to the bar. He said maybe the next Friday they would go check it out. I didn’t figure I’d hear from him again until the next week. I was pleasantly surprised when he called the next day.

He told me that his friends wanted to go to a bar that night, but he’d much rather hang out with me at the country bar. I was a little surprised because it started to sound suspiciously like a date. I told him I’d call him when I got to the bar, so I did. As it is very difficult to understand him while on the phone, I was very confused when he said he’d be up from the boat in a minute. The yacht that he works on is nowhere near the bar, so I was very confused. I went into the bar, then realized he thought we were meeting at the boat. I had to race to the boat, but I felt so bad that I didn’t understand him and got mixed up on the meeting point. Not the best start to a date.

After the shaky beginning, I finally found him. We had a wonderful time. We spent four hours in the country bar; talking, drinking and enjoying great music. I think my dad would love him a lot… which is always what I look for in a man. For the last six years I have chosen men that I have zero future with and that I would never introduce to my father. However, as I get older I contemplate more and more the possibility of finding a normal man that I can take home. I still believe I’d make a horrible girlfriend, but I think if I found the right man I might be a great girlfriend.

My date loves the outdoors, has much experience wake boarding and water skiing, is a fishing guide, has traveled the world… yep, dad would love him. I could only catch half of his stories since it was so hard to understand the accent in the loud bar, but he had some wild and crazy stories that definitely entertained me. Once he got maced in Costa Rica by a fairly attractive female who followed him home from the bar, came into his hut and stole his wallet and sunglasses. He chased her in his boxers until she maced him. I feel like he could quite possibly put up with some of the crazy things I’ve done/been through because he’s had just as crazy of a life.

After getting to know each other and closing down the bar, I took him back to the yacht. We walked around by the water and looked at all of the boats, it was perfect. I had no idea if it actually was a date, but I believe it was and if so… it was a very perfect first date. We ended the night with a hug. Very PG and totally not my style, but the fact that I didn’t wind up waking up next to him is a very good sign that this might actually go somewhere.

I may actually like this guy…. uh oh.

Now, of course, I have no idea how to proceed.

Naturally he leaves in two weeks on the yacht for three months. So I don’t know if it will go anywhere, but it was a lovely evening.

-Alexis Patron

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is awesome! Best of wishes

Comment by Sara

Thank you!

-Alexis

Comment by shouldacalleditanight

Wow. Sounds really promising, the beginning of something great. All the best!!!

Comment by isnessie

I sure hope so! I haven’t actually wanted to date anyone in a very long time… so we shall see if it works out!
Thanks :)

-Alexis

Comment by shouldacalleditanight

Oh good luck! Sound like it’s going to hopefully out for you :) Man I love those guys Down Under…something about their accents and ruggedness…lol.

Good luck!

Comment by Chandra

Thank you! Yes I do love the accent for sure!

Comment by shouldacalleditanight

[…] My date with a kiwi […]

Pingback by Unavailable men «

[…] It all starts in the spring: My date with a kiwi. […]

Pingback by Asshole of the year «




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

